STATE LEMON LAW CRITERIA

See if your vehicle qualifies for lemon law status. Use the links below to quickly locate the lemon law criteria for your state.

Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Up Alabama: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days within shorter of 24 months or 24,000 miles, provided 1 repair attempt or 1 day out of service is within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice to manufacturer + opportunity for final repair attempt within 14 calendar days.

Up Alaska: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice by certified mail to manufacturer + dealer (or repair agent) that problem has not been corrected in reasonable number of attempts + refund or replacement demanded within 60 days. Manufacturer has 30 calendar days for final repair attempt. State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

Up Arizona: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer.

Up Arkansas: 3 unsuccessful repairs, or 1 unsuccessful repair of a problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within longer of 24 months or 24,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Certified or registered mail notice to manufacturer. Manufacturer has 10 days to notify consumer of repair facility. Facility has 10 days to repair.

Up California: 4 times subject to repair or 30 calendar days out of service (can be non-consecutive) within shorter of 18 months or 18,000 miles, or “reasonable” number of attempts during entire express warranty period. Notification/Trigger: Direct written notice to manufacturer + delivery of car to repair facility for repair attempt within 30 days. UPDATE: As of 1/1/01, only 2 times subject to repair allowed for safety defects likely to cause death or serious bodily injury. Coverage also expanded to include small businesses registering up to 5 vehicles, weighing up to 10,000 pounds each.

Up Colorado: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Prior certified mail notice for each defect occurrence + opportunity to repair for manufacturer.

Up Connecticut: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles, or 2 unsuccessful repairs of a problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within warranty period or 1 year. Notification/Trigger: Report to manufacturer, agent or dealer. Written notice to manufacturer only if required in owner's manual or warranty. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Delaware: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up District of Columbia: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service or 1 unsuccessful repair of safety-related defect, within shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Report of each defect occurrence to manufacturer, agent or dealer. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Note: Enforcement is suspended until October 1, 2000. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Florida: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 15 calendar days within 24 months from delivery. Notification/Trigger: Written notice by certified or express mail to manufacturer who has 10 calendar days for final repair attempt after delivery to designated dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Georgia: 3 unsuccessful repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 24,000 miles or 24 months, with 1 repair or 15 days out of service within shorter or 1 year or 12,000 miles; or one unsuccessful repair of serious safety defect in braking or steering system within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles.. Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice return receipt requested. Manufacturer has 7 days to notify consumer of repair facility. Facility has 14 calendar days to repair. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles. Note: Proceeding under this state’s lemon law may cause consumer to lose other important rights regarding the manufacturer and dealer.

Up Hawaii: 3 unsuccessful repair attempts, or 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of defect likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, or 30 business days out of service within shorter of two years or 24,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Idaho: 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles, or 1 repair of a complete failure of the braking or steering system likely to cause death or serious bodily injury. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer or dealer and opportunity to repair. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Illinois: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Indiana: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service within the shorter of 18 months or 18,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer only if manufacturer included this requirement in the warranty. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Iowa: 3 unsuccessful repairs, or 1 unsuccessful repair of a nonconformity likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice by certified registered mail + final opportunity to repair within 10 calendar days of receipt of notice to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Kansas: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service or 10 total repairs within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Actual notice to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

Up Kentucky: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

Up Louisiana: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Report to manufacturer or dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Maine: 3 unsuccessful repairs (when at least 2 times same agent attempted repair) or 15 business days out of service within shorter of warranty or 2 years or 18,000 miles. Applies to vehicles within the first 18,000 miles or 2 years regardless of whether the claimant is the original owner. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer or dealer only if required in warranty or owner's manual. Manufacturer has 7 business days after receipt for final repair attempt. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Maryland: 4 unsuccessful repairs, 30 calendar days out of service or 1 unsuccessful repair of braking or steering system within shorter of 15 months or 15,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice, return receipt requested + opportunity to repair within 30 calendar days of receipt of notice to manufacturer or factory branch. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Massachusetts: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 15 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or 15,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Notice to manufacturer or dealer who has 7 business days to attempt final repair. State-run arbitration mechanism available.

Up Michigan: Total of 4 unsuccessful repairs within 2 years from the date of the first unsuccessful repair or 30 calendar days within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice, return receipt requested, to manufacturer who has 5 business days to repair after delivery. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Minnesota: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days or 1 unsuccessful repair of total braking or steering loss likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within shorter of 2 years or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer, agent or dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Mississippi: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 15 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer who has 10 business days to repair after delivery to designated dealer.

Up Missouri: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer who has 10 calendar days to repair after delivery to designated dealer.

Up Montana: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service after notice within shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State-run arbitration mechanism available.

Up Nebraska: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 40 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

Up Nevada: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

Up New Hampshire: 3 unsuccessful repairs by same dealer or 30 business days out of service within warranty. Notification/Trigger: Report to manufacturer, distributor, agent or dealer (on forms provided by manufacturer) + final opportunity to repair before arbitration. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up New Jersey: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 20 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice, return receipt requested to manufacturer who has 10 days to repair. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up New Mexico: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer, agent or dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

Up New York: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Notice to manufacturer, agent or dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up North Carolina: 4 unsuccessful repairs within shorter of 24 months, 24,000 miles or warranty or 20 business days out of service during any 12 month period of warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer + opportunity to repair within 15 calendar days of receipt only if required in warranty or owner's manual. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up North Dakota: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Direct written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. (Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as a prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.) State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Ohio: 3 unsuccessful repairs of same nonconformity, 30 calendar days out of service, 8 total repairs of any nonconformity, or 1 unsuccessful repair of problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within shorter of 1 year or 18,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Report to manufacturer, its agent or dealer. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Oklahoma: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 45 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

Up Oregon: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Direct written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Pennsylvania: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days within shorter of 1 year, 12,000 miles, or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Delivery to authorized service + repair facility. If delivery impossible, written notice to manufacturer or its repair facility obligates them to pay for delivery. (Manufacturer’s informal arbitrations process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.)

Up Rhode Island: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or 15,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Report to dealer or manufacturer who has 7 days for final repair opportunity. (Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.) Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up South Carolina: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice by certified mail + opportunity to repair (not more than 10 business days) to manufacturer only if manufacturer informed consumer of such at time of sale. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up South Dakota: 4 unsuccessful repairs, 1 of which occurred during the shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles, or 30 calendar days out of service during shorter of 24 months or 24,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice to manufacturer and final opportunity to repair + 7 calendar days to notify consumer of repair facility. (Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.)

Up Tennessee: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice to manufacturer + final opportunity to repair within 10 calendar days. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Texas: 4 unsuccessful repairs when 2 occurred within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles, + other 2 occur within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles immediately following second repair attempt; or 2 unsuccessful repairs of a serious safety defect when 1 occurred within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles + other occurred within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles immediately following first repair; or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles + at least 2 attempts were made within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Utah: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Report to manufacturer, agent or dealer. (Manufacturer’s informal arbitrations process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.) Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Vermont: 3 unsuccessful repairs when at least first repair was within warranty, or 30 calendar days out of service within warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer (on provided forms) after third repair attempt, or 30 days. Arbitration must be held within 45 days after notice, during which time manufacturer has 1 final repair. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Virginia: 3 unsuccessful repairs, or 1 repair attempt of serious safety defect, or 30 calendar days out of service within 18 months. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer. If 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 days already exhausted before notice, manufacturer has 1 more repair attempt not to exceed 15 days. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Washington: 4 unsuccessful repairs, 30 calendar days out of service (15 during warranty period), or 2 repairs of serious safety defects, first reported within shorter of warranty or 24 months or 24,000 miles. One repair attempt + 15 of the 30 days must fall within manufacturer's express warranty of at least 1 year of 12,000 miles. Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles. Note: Consumer should receive replacement or refund within 40 calendar days of request.

Up West Virginia: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service or 1 unsuccessful repair of problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Up Wisconsin: 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty. Notification/Trigger: Report to manufacturer or dealer. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles. Note: Consumer should receive replacement or refund within 30 calendar days after offer to return title.

Up Wyoming: 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business days out of service within 1 year. Notification/Trigger: Direct written notice + opportunity to repair to manufacturer. (Manufacturer’s informal arbitrations process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.)